Monday, 12 March 2012

Eating Raw, Vegan and Vegetarian in Miami and Southern Florida
WARNING! WARNING! WARNING! WARNING! 


Low Fat Vegan Chef Vancouver.

I purchased a DVD set from Veronica Grace Patenaude's website. The women on the right.


When i got the DVD set i opened the package to get started, all the dvd's in my order where scratched and did not work properly. So i contacted her to see if she would offer any kind of service to exchange or refund the products that i paid an arm and leg for. No call back for weeks so i kept leaving messages.

when i finely got a hold of her, her response was "my dvd's are always in working condition and it shouldn't be skipping, it's probably your dvd player".

I asked for a simple exchange for the defected products.She refused to exchange or refund my money, and she blamed the issue on me and suggested that the scratches came from my self using the products or i should get a new dvd player?

The few minutes that i could get out of the dvd's, i tried one of her so called tasty low fat recipes . Let me tell you that my 13 year old girl can make a better tasting plate.

THEY SAY DON'T JUDGE THE BOOK BY ITS COVER
She is OVER WIGHT and she claims to eat low fat food all day?
Something isn't right.

I'm starting this blog so people can voice there opinion about her CORRUPTED advertising and defected products. she claims to have 60 day money back guaranteed. i had trouble getting an exchange after 3 days.

She would probably reply to this with some kind of excuse. She seems to be very good at coming up with excuses, like the ones shes been giving me for passed few month
After doing a little research on Veronica Grace on Google i found out that she has a habit and a long record of destroying local companies reputations all over BC. 

So i'm going to post some of her unnecessary comments about descent hard working local businesses that she has posted online.

 



This is what veronica thinks about Cyber Bullies.


"The Age of Raw Vegan Cyber Bullies: Who Are Against Other Raw Vegans"

[ 11 ]September 2, 2011

Today I’d like to talk about something that really perturbs me, not just concerning myself, but  my friends and family in the raw vegan/food movement as well.
The total lack of respect for differing opinions and the need to write defamatory/slanderous remarks all over blogs, forums and youtube.
It’s a pandemic in our day and age in [...] 
Read the rest in her blog: http://www.rawveronica.com/raw-vegan-cyber-bullies/

Maybe the karma you were talking about in the above post is some what the karma that's happening to you!


This is veronica being a Cyber Bullie.


Veronica Grace's local business Posts:



Photo of Veronica D.
  •  
  • 20friends
  • 59reviews
Vancouver, BC
1.0 star rating
11/3/2011
OH MY! No... Just no.

My friend and I stopped here for lunch one day. It was super dead. I wondered why at first... now I know.

The server was very friendly. Really friendly. Topping up your water every few minutes friendly. I didn't mind because I'm a guzzler with my water at restaurants, and they're short glasses... but maybe some people wouldn't like that.

We didn't want anything else to drink, but he brought us a little sample of chai to try. I don't really like tea, and I hate coffee. Hate... But this chai was good, and I actually thought well I can probably drink it's cuz there's no dairy in it either.  It was really good. So I would say the chai is best thing about our experience here.

My friend ordered the tempeh burger with roasted potatoes, and I ordered the dharma dude bowl.

I had asked what was in the dressings, but could not get an answer if all the dressings had oil in it. I can't stand salads with nuts, avocado and oil all over it. It's really too much concentrated fat for a small bowl of lettuce.

But all he said was "Everything on the menu is healthy".  I just kinda laughed inside.  Healthy is relative. If you eat too much of anything that in itself can be unhealthy... so that's why I wanted to know if all their salads were just oily salads. Essential fatty acids are good, too many calories from fat is not good. You know what I mean?

So we waited for a while and then our food came out. The tempeh I got on my bowl, was the same as the burger patty.  It looked and tasted like a burger patty.  It was all right.  Definitely the most flavourful thing in the dish.  The rest was just plain steamed veg, with an oily mild gravy and some COLD slightly reheated potato rounds.

The potatoes on my friend's plate were the same too.

We felt cheated, like everything on the menu is the exact same stuff presented in different combinations... and this is not a good thing.

It all tasted like blah.

Now if you're vegetarian or vegan, don't you generally know some tasty recipes for veg bowls and stir fries? You'd think right.

Cuz this is probably the worst blah tasting vegan food I've had in Vancouver.

I create healthy low fat vegan recipes for my business. I KNOW how to do healthy and flavourful.  But this kitchen doesn't get it. Even without garlic and onions, you can still make stuff flavourful, and not have it just be barely reheated and tossed together.

I have to say that I have no desire to come back because I'd rather pay $14 for something tasty at an Omni restaurant.  It's a shame because the place looks nice and warm inside, but the food is what is driving customers away.

When you're dead all the time, it's the food or the price.  In this case it's both


Organic Lives  

Categories: Live/Raw FoodHealth Food StoreJuice Bars & Smoothies
Neighbourhood: Mount Pleasant
1.0 star rating
Update - 11/7/2011 3 photos
They do a great job advertising that they are a raw food restaurant, yet some of their items are not raw. I have nothing against non raw food.  But some people that are 100% raw foodists are mislead by what's being served here.

And just because they have great presentation for the food, does NOT mean that any of it tastes remotely good.

Raw vegan food and even cooked vegan food can taste amazing if you know how to balance flavours and season properly. Which is not done here.

The focus is obviously organic food, sustainable, looks good so it makes you feel good about what you're eating, and it bypasses the "tasting good" part.

Which is kind of the point of going to any restaurant in general.

The food is supposed to taste good. If you don't care that it's raw and supposedly better than cooked food, then what is the point of serving rawish food then?

See my previous review for more details on the dishes they serve here.

I wouldn't eat this food again if someone paid me. I really hope they understand how important it is to TASTE TEST recipes to ensure consistency.

And that floppy fruit roll ups do NOT work as a wrap.  I make 100% raw dehydrated wraps that are flexible but hold up well and are not sticky and do not fall apart. They have the worst wrappings I've ever had for raw food.
Was this review …?

1 Previous Review: Hide »

  • 1.0 star rating
    9/17/2011
    Either the chef here has no tastebuds or has little experience making raw food.

    If you don't have time to read my review, let me save you right here and say DO NOT under ANY circumstance order the the SPRING ROLL with Kelp noodle salad. It was the MOST REVOLTING dish, raw or not I have ever had the displeasure of eating at a restaurant. Soggy, floppy, bitter as all hell and the salad was even worse. I couldn't even attempt to finish it, nor could my husband. Disgusting.

    I have to disclose that I am in the raw food scene and a raw recipe creator  for my online raw info business.

    Upon walking into the restaurant you will feel like you are in more of a cafeteria/library setting with raw products being sold on book shelves and a plexiglassed kitchen where you can see people almost acting as if they are factory creating raw food dishes and snacks. It's very sterile looking and quite drafty.

    I generally only try raw restaurants when traveling around the USA and Europe/Asia as I can prepare my own dishes at home, but we had friends in town and agreed to meet them there.

    The place was dead for dinner on a Thursday and the waitress disappeared for long periods of time. It took absolutely forever to order our food.  She seemed more interested in hanging out in the kitchen than helping us.

    We ordered a few things to share, the Tortilla soup, Spring Roll, Sicilian Wrap and Pad Thai.

    Tortilla Soup: basically nuts pureed in water with some veggies, chunks of hard veggies in the soup, drizzled with raw sour cream and 2 tortilla crackers.  The soup was not good. It was flavourless with some spicy heat, which was odd.  The crackers served were very hard and gritty and a terrible texture. I've never had raw crackers like that before.

    Spring Roll: Tiny floppy sticky dehydrated wrap made of pear and coconut wrapped around julienne veggies and sprouts. If you try to hold it up it falls apart. The wrap gets your fingers all sticky and you cannot eat it and put it down between bites. It's a mess and tastes like nothing.  There is no flavour but a tiny bit of sauce that was unremarkable.  The killer here is the Kelp noodle salad (kelp noodles are not raw BTW, and this is a raw restaurant) The kelp noodles in themselves are not really bad, but the sauce and herbs in this salad are what make it revolting. It is the most bitter disgusting raw salad I've ever had in my life. And I've been to tons of raw potlucks where people have no idea what they're doing and make some pretty strange stuff.  STAY AWAY

    Sicilian Wrap: (I had actually regretted not ordering this, as it looked better than my dish, but after tasting it I realized it was a lose lose situation) There is nothing Sicilian about this wrap. We've been to Sicily and are quite confused what they expected to happen here.  A bitter black dehydrated wrap filled with a few strands of red pepper, bitter black olive slices and a mass of alfalfa sprouts.  Yep that's all. It looks really pretty, but it tastes like bitter olives and bitter sprouts.  The caesar salad that comes with it is just ok. The most impressive thing is the croutons but the dressing is not very good. I can make better.

    Pad Thai: Kelp noodles with shredded cabbage in a sauce. I've had pad thai in Thailand. I've had raw pad thai in Thailand as well. There is nothing Thai about this dish whatsoever. No explosion of flavour, no tamarind, no sweet and savouryness.  It's just like a bland coleslaw like salad. As a side salad it might be passable, but as an entree it fails.

    Now after trying a good portion of their menu, I have to say that when it's this abysmal I am afraid to return as now I know they have no sense of flavour.

    It's very sad.  The owner seems like he cares about fresh organic food and being sustainable, but either he does not eat his own food, or he is not interested in good food.

    When you are dead during dinner with barely any customers this says something.

    For the price of the food, the taste do not match.

    Not to mention we had to go home and make more food when we got back. Sprouts and a few julienne veggies have no calories and do not fill anyone up, let alone a vegan or raw vegan.

    Raw food is SO easy to make. You just have to taste test as you go. You need to have the basic flavours of sweet, savoury, salty, bitter, tangy or spicy.

    The only flavour they have mastered is bitter, bitter, bitter.  Sprouts, olives, bitter herbs and shredded veg is not something any chef expects to taste great together.

    The food looks beautiful and they have presentation, but I would rather eat plain lettuce than ever eat this food again.

    Raw restaurants usually hook people with their desserts, but when you make raw cakes and pies you rely heavy on cashews (not raw) or coconut oil as it's stable at room temperature like butter (pure fat).  So you end up with a dessert that has as much fat in it as a big mac, and its labeled as healthy because it's vegan. Bait and switch maybe?    Show owner comment »
    Was this review …?
3667 Broadway W
Vancouver, BC V6R 2B8
(604) 738-3899

Dharma Kitchen  

Categories: VeganVietnamese
Neighbourhood: Kitsilano
1.0 star rating
11/3/2011
OH MY! No... Just no.

My friend and I stopped here for lunch one day. It was super dead. I wondered why at first... now I know.

The server was very friendly. Really friendly. Topping up your water every few minutes friendly. I didn't mind because I'm a guzzler with my water at restaurants, and they're short glasses... but maybe some people wouldn't like that.

We didn't want anything else to drink, but he brought us a little sample of chai to try. I don't really like tea, and I hate coffee. Hate... But this chai was good, and I actually thought well I can probably drink it's cuz there's no dairy in it either.  It was really good. So I would say the chai is best thing about our experience here.

My friend ordered the tempeh burger with roasted potatoes, and I ordered the dharma dude bowl.

I had asked what was in the dressings, but could not get an answer if all the dressings had oil in it. I can't stand salads with nuts, avocado and oil all over it. It's really too much concentrated fat for a small bowl of lettuce.

But all he said was "Everything on the menu is healthy".  I just kinda laughed inside.  Healthy is relative. If you eat too much of anything that in itself can be unhealthy... so that's why I wanted to know if all their salads were just oily salads. Essential fatty acids are good, too many calories from fat is not good. You know what I mean?

So we waited for a while and then our food came out. The tempeh I got on my bowl, was the same as the burger patty.  It looked and tasted like a burger patty.  It was all right.  Definitely the most flavourful thing in the dish.  The rest was just plain steamed veg, with an oily mild gravy and some COLD slightly reheated potato rounds.

The potatoes on my friend's plate were the same too.

We felt cheated, like everything on the menu is the exact same stuff presented in different combinations... and this is not a good thing.

It all tasted like blah.

Now if you're vegetarian or vegan, don't you generally know some tasty recipes for veg bowls and stir fries? You'd think right.

Cuz this is probably the worst blah tasting vegan food I've had in Vancouver.

I create healthy low fat vegan recipes for my business. I KNOW how to do healthy and flavourful.  But this kitchen doesn't get it. Even without garlic and onions, you can still make stuff flavourful, and not have it just be barely reheated and tossed together.

I have to say that I have no desire to come back because I'd rather pay $14 for something tasty at an Omni restaurant.  It's a shame because the place looks nice and warm inside, but the food is what is driving customers away.

When you're dead all the time, it's the food or the price.  In this case it's both.


Royas Carpet Cleaning  

Categories: Home ServicesCarpet Cleaning
Neighbourhood: Dunbar-Southlands
1.0 star rating
11/8/2011
I tried my hardest to get my carpet cleaned by this company before we had guests come stay at our apartment in September.

We have off white carpets and they get dirty pretty fast when people have dirty shoes or socks and come in and out from the balcony and such.

I emailed the company.  I called, no one ever answered.  I left messages, no one called me back.

I asked for a cleaning well in advance and just couldn't get a single answer back.

They have pretty bad customer service.  You beg for an appointment and they don't even want your business?

Must be nice to be so rich you don't need customers.

I don't recommend this company. Show owner comment »

Dream Cafe  

Category: Cafes 
1.0 star rating
9/18/2011
Step away from the food, do not pass go, do not collect $200!!!

For a short summer jaunt to the Okanagan my husband and I thought we would at least find some vegan friendly fare somewhere nearby.

We had actually looked forward to going to this place as the menu didn't look too bad from online, with a variety of things.

This is where we should have realized it has problems. We were the first to arrive for dinner, the place was totally dead.

The menu is thrown together, and eclectic mash of bland, unauthentic food reheated and served by a surly defensive waitress.

To start, we got the Dream Appie Duo, a curried stuffed phylo with a baked samosa. It was all right, reheated from the oven. Except that they think raita is spelled riata, which they put several times on the menu.  Obviously someone hasn't a clue about Indian food. A read through should be done before printing menus. Just sayin'.

My husband got the Baked Tofu with veggies and rice. It was exactly that. Plain reheated tofu, no marinade/flavor, standard mixed veg and plain rice. Blah, just total blah reheated and served up. Disappointing.

Myself I ordered the Thai Vegetable Curry (having been to Thailand and it being my favourite cuisine I thought perhaps it would have some flavour) Was I ever wrong. This was the most revolting dish I have ever had at a cafe. They dare call it a curry? It is the same mixed random veg my husband had, cooked in a gelatinous coconut sauce that has the consistency of "you know what" with ZERO seasoning, spice, or Thai flavour, with rice and a freaking Indian papadam!!!

Who the hell is making this menu? Did this sauce come from a packet? Did it come from the back of the fridge from last week's serving? Indian cracker served with Thai vegetables that have not a single thing Thai about it?

The waitress asked if everything was all right and my husband said I'm sorry no, but it's not. Actually her dish is the most disgusting curry we have ever tasted, there's nothing Thai about it.  Could you just please tell the kitchen about this?

She got upset, so defensive and started being rude saying "Well this is how we make it, that's just how it is"

Well how about saying, "Oh ok, I'll let the kitchen know. Sorry about that. Would you like to try something else instead?"

No... so we asked for the bill and she ignores us.  Finally she brings it and disappears.

My husband looks and they've taken my dish off, well that's nice considering I'm still starving and have to now buy food elsewhere.  But the waitress is nowhere to be found.  He can't even pay.  He goes inside to search around for her and she won't even talk to him.  He said listen I know it's not your fault the dish is bad why do you take things so personally?

This girl was unbelievable. You'd think we'd called her baby ugly or something. It was goop on a plate with vegetables. What is she so upset about? Who would actually eat that garbage?

Anyways, so we left her a tip and beelined out of that hole.

I really hope the owner gives a rats and is open to customer feedback, because when you're dead like that and serving reheated slop like that that's gotta be affecting your bottom line.

Perhaps the menu could step out of it's identity crisis and you can remove the Indian papadam from the "Thai" dish and get a new recipe for coconut sauce and use a little Thai basil or galangal or kaffir lime leaf. Just anything Thai or get it off the menu.

Maybe this place should rethink it's name as the Nightmare Cafe.  As clearly customers are not important and feedback is treated with rudeness and defensive remarks.

A Taste of Vietnam  

Category: Vietnamese
Neighbourhood: Fairview Slopes
1.0 star rating
8/24/2011
Went here for a vegan meet up.  There was about 40 of us for the whole restaurant.  They only gave us 1 server and we had to beg for water because we were not given any.  The poor guy was running around like crazy.  They didn't call in extra staff until after we were there 1.5 hours and just leaving.  Poor management.

All the dishes we got were exactly the same deep fried tofu by itself, deep fried tofu with peppers in this sauce, deep fried tofu with peppers in another sauce, fried rice with tofu etc. etc.  WAY too much of the same deep fried tofu.  Almost no vegetables. The portions were WAY too small.  We were starving.

Myself and 3 friends left and went back to my place for dessert because there was barely enough for our table.  We got 2 tbsp of each dish each and are supposed to be full on that?

We noticed everyone else who went there got the Pho or noodle soup.  We probably should have just had that, because this place does not make tasty curries. Nothing like flavourful Thai curries, and only onions and peppers for vegetables.

I know they tried hard, but they were really unprepared and it was very disappointing going there.


The Eatery  

Categories: JapaneseSushi BarsAsian Fusion
Neighbourhood: Kitsilano
1.0 star rating
8/24/2011
Went here for a vegan meetup. We had a good chunk of the place but only 1 waitress for over 30 of us.

We were told they had vegan friendly sushi, but almost everything has mayo, cream cheese or tempura (with egg) in it.  So my husband and I ordered about 5 large sushi rolls and they basically all came out the same.

The grossest one by fat was the yam rolls.  Ok so they didn't tell us "better not get it, it needs tempura" so we got half raw PLAIN yam rolled up into a sushi roll.  Come on.  Who in their right mind thinks half cooked yam is good? I was really shocked.

We ordered a good 30 minutes before everyone else settled in and it still took forever.  Some people had to wait over an hour for food. This was a week night so it was really surprising.

I have never been so unsatisfied and grossed out by veggie sushi.  Normally we love it, but everything tasted the same, could only get cucumber, avocado, yam and pickled radish in the rolls. When you modify everything from vegetarian to vegan the taste is totally gone. They rely too much on mayo and cream cheese to be interesting.

If you're into fish and mayo sushi, you might really enjoy the place. But I'll stick to The Sushi Bar for my veggie sushi fix thanks.
Was this review …?
1867 4th Ave W
Vancouver, BC V6J 1M4
(604) 734-1310

The Noodle Box  

Category: Asian Fusion
Neighbourhood: Kitsilano
2.0 star rating
8/24/2011
I've eaten here twice, once dine in and once to go. I had the vegetarian chow mein. I asked and paid for extra veggies.  It did not come with it. So I had to complain and they made another one for me.  It doesn't really have veggies to start with, so it's a little pricey to pay for extra veggies, just to get a few aside from bean sprouts. The sauce was lacklustre, it was nothing special. I wished I had ordered a different one.

Next time for take out I spent a while deciding, but had heard the Garlic black bean sauce was good, so I tried that.  Although I was surprised and a little impressed to have actual black beans in it, the sauce was again lacklustre.  There wasn't much flavour to it.  I ordered it mild because I don't enjoy spicy food.  At home, I added some peanut butter because it was bland, and 2 I was starving and with a few veggies and rice noodles it wasn't enough to fill me up.

My husband ordered the Singapore noodles hot at 7 and it was way too spicy for him.  He should have known better, but he threw half of it out he was getting hiccups it was so hot and could barely eat it! lol. Say medium if you like spicy or you'll probably regret it.

We live down the street from here, and while I like the idea, it is just too expensive and bland for what you get. I have all the same ingredients at home anyways so we make our own now.

Vegans beware you may still be hungry after your ration of veggies and rice noodles...

I'm sure everyone else who says they are stuffed or it's two meals got meat in their box.
Was this review …?
870 W Cordova St
Vancouver, BC V6C 1Z7
(604) 689-3188

Freshii  

Category: Food
Neighbourhood: Downtown
1.0 star rating
8/24/2011
This place looks nice and has a really great concept.

But the execution is not good.  The ingredients are so bland and boring and pretty expensive.

I had both a custom rice bowl with veggies and teriyaki and the vegan wrap.

The rice bowl was like tiny bits of RAW salad toppings, raw broccoli on rice? Yuck. Dripping in so much sweet dressing, it was pretty ick. The chickpeas were hard and cold.

So I ordered the vegan wrap because this was on their menu and therefore not my own creation and trusted it would be better.

Wrong... bland again and the disgustingly salty sun dried tomatoes they used ruined the entire thing. Wow those were gross.  Then I got a headache after from the sulfites.  So I have to say I was really disappointed, and it cost a lot of money to feel blah and unsatisfied for lunch.

Really it's a good idea to let people build their own wraps and salads, but the ingredients are not so good. Everything is cold and cold rice and cold raw veggies together are not tasty.

The owners need to try some of the vegan stuff and see it's not good and really disappointing.

I just happened to be downtown for a class and needed lunch, so I definitely won't be back.  I can make better stuff at home that won't be ice cold and tasteless.
Was this review …?
805 Broadway W
Vancouver, BC V5Z 1K1
(604) 874-5800

New India Buffet & Restaurant  

Categories: IndianBuffetsPakistani
Neighbourhood: Fairview Slopes
2.0 star rating
8/24/2011
Went here on a coupon for the buffet.  It is pretty dead here.   Looking for vegan options on the buffet, not a lot.  Most have cream, cheese or meat in them.

We filled up on rice and papadums and alu gobi.  The food was just ok. But by the end of the meal we didn't feel so well.  Even the next day I was like ok... something is not right.

I have no idea why the advertise that the chef is health conscious and uses the minimum quantity of oil and ghee to make the dishes because that's clearly a lie.  It's very greasy, swimming in oil and you feel nauseous and heavy after eating it.

I regret buying the coupon, next time we'll just go to All India Sweets for a buffet or get entrees at another restaurant.

The view is beautiful here but this place is old and dead and not so great.


Chronic Tacos  

Category: Mexican
Neighbourhood: Kitsilano
2.0 star rating
8/24/2011
Not so tasty if you're vegan and want a veggie burrito.  My husband and I got 2 the other day after they just opened.

Couldn't have the seasoned rice, it has chicken stock in it. Skipped the dairy cheese and dairy sour cream too.

So we got white rice, beans, guacamole, lettuce, tomatoes.

Blah it didn't taste like anything.  I think the beans need to be seasoned.  Maybe they could offer some vegan daiya cheese for veg people and those allergic to dairy.

It's right by our place, and I can't say that I want to come back.  It's pretty expensive but I did not enjoy eating it.  It's all white rice and tortilla with almost no flavour.  I can make better at home with seasoned beans and vegetables.
Was this review …?
19358 96 Ave
Surrey, BC V4N 1C1
(604) 580-0009

Nationwide Carpet & Duct Cleaning  

Category: Carpet Cleaning 
1.0 star rating
8/24/2011 First to Review
I am really unhappy with the lack of service and response from this company. I found out about them because they ran a groupon type coupon, but this did not apply to apartment units, only houses. So I couldn't get the deal, but they promised to have stellar cleaning service so I was willing to pay full price.

I sent in a request for quote online last Saturday and never heard back via phone or email. It's been 3 business days. Then I waited on hold yesterday on the phone and was told I was the "first" in line and someone would be there shortly.  Well no one came.  So after waiting a while I pressed 1 and left a message for a call back with my phone number and was promised I would not lose my place in line and would be called back.  I waited 24 hours and no one calls me back.  What is this, "you'll keep your place in line" BS if no one calls back or checks the messages.

I am not happy with this company. I wanted my apartment carpet cleaned, I am not a groupon customer. They recently ran a coupon for house cleaning and apparently can't even answer the phone anymore.

I NEVER EVER heard back from them. No call back, no email no nothing. They just weren't interested in my business, so I went with someone else the next week who was an independent instead of a big company.

Really sad, since I was a ready and willing full price customer and they were so bogged down with coupon deals no one got back to me.

Don't run deals and sell so much that you have to turn away new business from full paying customers.